Leading Infotainment Portal in Africa

Here are the 10 Nigerian Heroes and Heroines That Can Never Be Forgotten

Share This Article

3. Dr. Nnamdi Azikw

#3:. Dr. Nnamdi Azikwe

Born on the 16th of November, 1904 in Niger state, Benjamin Nnamdi Azikwe was one of the leading figures of modern Nigerian nationalism. He was fondly referred to as “Zik” and became the first president of Nigeria after Nigeria got her independence from the United Kingdom.

While working as the editor for the African Morning Post, a daily newspaper in Ghana, Nnamdi Azikiwe promoted pro-African nationalist agenda. Upon his return to Nigeria in 1937, he founded the West African Pilot which was a tool used to promote the cause of Nigerian nationalism. The newspaper had as it motto “To show the light and let the people find their way.” He founded the National Council of Nigeria and the Cameroons (NCNC) in 1944 alongside Herbert Macaulay and he was made the secretary-general of the National Council in 1946. He was later elected to Legislative Council of Nigeria the following year. He was the first Nigerian to be named to the Privy Council of the United Kingdom and he also became the Governor General on the same day. Zik became the second (but first indigenous) and last Governor General from 1960 to 1963 and the first president of Nigeria, following the declaration of Nigeria as a Republic in 1963.

He fought tirelessly for an independent and united Nigeria.

4. Kudirat Abiola

#4:. Kudirat Abiola

Kudirat Abiola was born in 1951 in the Northern city of Zaria, Nigeria. She took active part in pro-democracy movement in 1994. She was actively involved in moving and sustaining the oil workers twelve week strike against the military.

The strike successfully weakened the government and was the longest in African history by oil workers. In December of 1995, when the pro-democracy groups decided to march for freedom in Lagos, she joined the likes of Chief Anthony Enahoro at the forefront. She deified military decree banning political associations and was an inspiration to many. She won ‘Woman of the Year’ in both 1994 and 1995. Her life was cut short by assassins on June 4, 1996.

Loudest Gist © 2015 - 2017 Website Weaved & Owned by OLAMOSH Web Services